Group lauds FG for honouring outstanding military officers with national honours

The Centre for Wounded Servicemen and Fallen Heroes Supports Fund (CFWS&FHSF),  has commended the Federal Government for honouring military officers who served the country meritoriously with national honours.


Retired Gen. Cecil Esekhaigbe, the Chairman of the centre’s Board of Trustees (BoT), said this in a statement on Wednesday in Abuja.


Esekhaigbe said that the gesture would motivate other officers to put in their best in the service of the country.


He said that the officers who were honoured made enormous contributions to the country’s response to security challenges.


He appreciated the government for posthumously honouring the late Chief of Army Staff, Lt.- Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru and others, saying they distinguished themselves in service to our fatherland.


This, he said, they did through conspicuous gallantry at the risk of their lives above and beyond the call to duty, describing them as fearless and competent in the face of danger.


Esekhaigbe said that although over 5,000 nominees were presented to the National Honour Awards Committee for consideration, only 447 persons made the list.


“Our brave gallant Service Chief and other officers were among the awardees,” he said.


He listed those who made the list to include Gen. Lucky Irabor, the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), Lt.-Gen. Farouk Yahaya, the Chief of Army Staff (COAS), Vice Admiral Awwal Gambo, the Chief of Naval  Staff and Air Vice Marshall Oladayo Amao, the Chief of Air Staff among others.


Esekhaigbe said that the officers were worthy ambassadors of the military because they contributed immensely to the country.


The CFWS&FHSF is a Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) set up to honour and render assistance to wounded servicemen and families of fallen heroes left behind.


The National Honours Awards was established by the National Honours Act of No 6 of 1964. It took retroactive effect from Oct. 1, 1963.

The act empowers the president by warrant of the Nigerian Order of Dignity to honour deserving citizens who contributed to the development and progress of the country in any field of endeavor.(

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *