APC presidential ticket: Fayemi denies stepping down, says he is favourably positioned

Agency report
Gov. Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State and one of the presidential aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC)has debunked reports in some quarters that he may be asked to step down for a particular aspirant.
Mr Femi Ige, Director-General Fayemi Presidential Campaign Organisation debunked the report in a statement on Friday in Abuja.
He recalled that an online media had reported that Fayemi and four other governors held a closed door meeting with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, suggesting that he was being pressured to abandon his presidential ambition.
Ige described the report as absolute fake, saying that no meeting took place between Fayemi and any aspirant about stepping down.
“We are undoubtedly among the leading aspirants for the position and one to watch out for in the race.
“Our candidate has deep trust and respect among political leaders in the party and also from colleague governors who form a critical mass in the decision making process of the party,”he said.
Ige said Fayemi was favourably positioned and had the backing of critical APC stakeholders ahead of its presidential primary election.
He expressed optimism that with the backing Fayemi had, he would clinch the party’s 2023 presidential ticket at the primary slated for June 6 to 8.
He, therefore, called on Fayemi’s supporters to remain calm, focus and not to lose faith because of the lies fabricated by political detractors.
He stressed thst no amount of “late night demarketing” would work against the Kayode Fayemi presidential project.
Over 20 presidential aspirants will be contesting for the APC 2023 presidential ticket at its presidential primary election.
The list of the presidential aspirants includes: Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Sen. Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State; Mr Rotimi Amaechi, who was until recently, the Minister of Transportation.
Others are former Minister of Niger Delta Development , Sen. Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu and former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.
Former Imo Governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha and former Ogun Governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun, Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River Governor, Prof. Ben Ayade, and his Ebonyi counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi are also in the race.
Former President of the Senate,  Sen. Ken Nnamani, Gov. Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Jigawa Governor, Mohammed Abubakar and President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan are also in the race.
Others are former Zamfara Governor, Sen. Ahmed Yerima, the only APC female presidential aspirant, Mrs Uju Kennedy-Ohnenye,  Pastor Nicholas Nwagbo and a former Speaker of House of Representatives, Mr Dimeji Bankole.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *